Turn on Lightning Experience Critical Update Coming in 2019

Follow

You may have seen an announcement from Salesforce recently that they will be automatically moving all customers onto the Salesforce Lightning platform as their invest platform for the future. As a Bullhorn customer we’re writing to inform what this means to your business, and your Bullhorn Connexys Experience.

What will happen

Salesforce will turn on Lightning Experience on a rolling basis starting in Winter '20 for all orgs with editions that support Lightning Experience, which includes Bullhorn Connexys orgs. 

After the auto-activation date (October 12, 2019), users with the following profiles will see the Switch to Lightning Experience link in Salesforce Classic:

  • Standard profiles which automatically include the Lightning Experience User permission by default
  • Custom profiles or permission sets that have the Lightning Experience User permission enabled by an admin

Every week starting after October 12, Lightning Experience-enabled users who are working in Salesforce Classic will be automatically logged into Lightning Experience. Users can switch back to Salesforce Classic if needed.

What does this mean to you

For all Standard profiles in Salesforce Classic, Lightning will be automatically enabled as of 12 October, 2019 - including users of Bullhorn Connexys Classic. This will also be done for users with custom profiles that have the Lightning Experience User permission enabled and users who have an assigned permission set in which this permission is enabled.

As Bullhorn Connexys Classic is not out-of-the-box Salesforce Lightning enabled, you will need to opt out of this auto-update or your org will be shown in Lightning for your users which can cause functionalities to no longer work properly.

What you need to do

If you’ve already upgraded to Bullhorn Connexys Lightning experience there’s nothing to worry about - you’re all sorted!

If you’re using Bullhorn Connexys with the Classic experience, you have two options:

  1. Upgrade to our new Bullhorn Connexys with Lightning experience
  2. Stay on Bullhorn Connexys Classic by manually opting-out of the upgrade.

Upgrade to Bullhorn Connexys with Lightning

If you want to know more about upgrading your business to Salesforce Lightning, visit our website or talk to your Account Manager about your options.

Opt-out of the upgrade

To opt-out of the upgrade you'll need to follow these three steps before the critical update is activated:

  1. Determine whether Standard profiles are used by (active) users on your org. Standard profiles are those that don't have the Custom Profile checkbox checked. Open a profile to see whether this checkbox is checked or add this field as a column to the list view on the Profiles page. The Standard profiles that are used need to be cloned and the permission Lightning Experience User needs to be disabled.
  2. Then check if the Custom profiles that are used have the permission Lightning Experience User enabled. If this is the case, the permission needs to be disabled or these profiles need to be cloned as well (and in the cloned version the permission Lightning Experience User needs to be disabled).
  3. The last check is whether permission sets are assigned to users in which the permission Lightning Experience User is enabled. If this is the case, disable the permission or clone the permission set and disable the permission in the clone and assign the cloned permission set to the required users. More information about permission sets can be found here.

Cloning a profile can be done fairly easy by opening the profile and clicking on the Clone button on top of the page. Give the cloned profile a recognizable name and save. Now assign this profile to the required users by clicking the View user(s) button. Attached is a video of how to clone a profile. More information about profiles can be found in the Salesforce Trailblazer Community.

Once Lightning Experience is enabled by the critical update being auto-activated, new options will be available in the setup menu. You'll need to make sure those setup options are disabled:

  • Being automatically switched to Lightning Experience on a weekly basis
    • Can be found under Lightning Experience Transition Assistant → Optimize → Switch Users to Lightning Experience on a regular schedule
  • Receiving in-app communications informing Admins that Lightning Experience will be turned on for their Org
    • Can be found under User Interface → Lightning Experience Turns On Soon

As mentioned, these two setup options will be available once Lightning Experience is enabled which will be done by auto-activating the critical update on October 12, 2019. Make sure to disable these setup options as soon as possible after this date.

If you have any questions regarding this announcement, please contact Bullhorn Support.

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk