Orphaned Records Deletion/Anonymization

Follow

ODC Tool v1.0.0

Purpose

We have identified an issue with certain candidate record documents that have been shared through the Connexys for Salesforce “Proposal” functionality; when adding attachments to an email in a Step and/or Email component; and when uploading images as part of generating candidate CVs. As part of these processes, Connexys creates and stores a copy of the applicable document as a new Content Document in the Service. 

In versions before 31.27.3 (e.g. 31.27.2 and older versions), if the Content Document was candidate-related (e.g. a CV), then the Content Document was not linked to the candidate. As a result, the Content Document would not be deleted/anonymized when a customer deleted/anonymized the related candidate record. These Content Documents remain in your Service as “Orphaned Documents” as the candidate anonymization process cannot identify them.

This tool allows you to review these potentially Orphaned Documents and delete them at your discretion.

For versions 31.27.3 and more current versions, the Content Documents created after installation are linked to candidate records and, accordingly, they are included in the anonymization process.

Please take note:  We are providing this tool to assist and streamline your review of these Content Documents.  That said, due to the nature of Salesforce, and your ability to configure, customize, or add third-party products to the Service, it is possible that legitimate documents could appear to be Orphaned. For this reason, any deletions you perform need to be carefully considered.

Instructions

Prerequisite

To start with, the Connexys package on your Org must be on version 31.27.3 or higher, and the Lighting version of Salesforce.

Installation

Contact your Support Representative to arrange the installation of the ODC Tool, and provide the name of the Admin User who will be using it.

After installation

  • Go to the Salesforce Setup > Permission Sets > ODC Tool User > Manage Assignments and assign the admin user.
  • Create a Permission Set with View All Data permissions and select it for the admin user in App Permissions under the Content section. 
  • Add the Retain field to the page layout of the Orphaned Document Reference Layout.

Usage

Open the Orphaned Documents Cleanup Tool tab from the App Launcher icon.

Once opened, the initial tab shows all the Sites in your Org, and you can start to find and analyze the Content Documents that are potentially Orphans.  You will want to review every Site in your Org.

Click the Process Documents button to start the analysis for a particular Site. This triggers an asynchronous batch job, and the status is shown to the right of the button.

Depending on the data in your Org, it may take minutes to complete the analysis.  If you are concerned about the duration, please contact Support.

Once the batch job has been completed, the results can help you decide whether the Content Documents can be deleted without needing individual review. It will show the number of potentially Orphaned Documents.  It will also indicate how many of these are only linked to the Site Default Record Owner.

You should take the following considerations into account:

  • Is there a large discrepancy between the two counts?
    • If there is a large number of potentially Orphaned Documents with links to entities other than the Site Default Record Owner, this can indicate another process, product or action is interacting with the system. Any deletion may therefore affect the functioning of that entity.
  • Who is the Site Default Record Owner?
    • If this is a dedicated user who would not upload any other content, you can have more confidence in being able to delete the potentially Orphaned Documents.
    • However, if they are an active user, could they own valuable Content Documents that shouldn't be deleted?
  • Do you have customizations or other products that could have created Content Documents through the same Site?
    • If so, any deletion may therefore affect the functioning of that entity.

For example, if the Site Default Record Owner is the Connexys Support Account, and you have no third-party products installed, and don't reuse the Site for any other purpose, then you can be more confident that these are Orphaned Documents that can be deleted.

If you are satisfied that all of the potentially Orphaned Documents linked only to the Site Default Owner can be deleted, then use the Delete Documents button to start a batch job to remove them. This will not remove any Content Document with a link to any other entity, nor will it remove Content Documents that have been marked as Retain in the Orphaned Document Reference list view.

If you want to review the Content Documents before deletion or review if some documents are linked to more than just the Site Default Record Owner, then proceed to the Orphaned Document Reference list view.

This page allows you to see any Content Documents that are potentially Orphaned so that you can review them and determine whether to retain or delete them.

As you review the Content Documents, you can update the Retain field to indicate the Content Document that should not be deleted.  Please note: the value of the Retain field is stored, so you can easily distribute review work and be clear on what has already been reviewed.  You may choose to leverage the Retain field in a standard Salesforce filter to exclude results that have already been reviewed.  Should you have a significant number of records to review, the use of filters may help partition the review work.

When you have finalized your review and updated the Retain field for the documents you wish to retain, select the Content Documents you wish to delete and click the Delete Content Documents button to start a batch job to remove them. Any Content Document that has been marked to be retained will not be deleted.

Note that if the Retain field on a Content Document is checked, it will be excluded from all subsequent Delete Documents actions in both Step 1 (“Orphaned Documents Cleanup Tool”) and Step 2 (“Orphaned Documents Reference List View”) tabs.  You can uncheck the Retain field on the Content Document at any point in the future should you wish to delete it.

If you have any questions about the tool, please reach out to your Support Representative and they will be happy to help you.

Troubleshooting

If the tool's Processing Status is stuck on 'Loading...' the status can be reset by deleting the entry from bullhorn__Orphaned_Document_Reference_Site__c.

Run the following query in Salesforce Inspector's Data Export:

SELECT Id, CreatedDate FROM bullhorn__Orphaned_Document_Reference_Site__c
  1. Select the entry
  2. Choose View in Salesforce
  3. Delete the Orphaned Document Reference Site
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

Powered by Zendesk